- Trusted User FAQ - As a new user at The Place, you will start out as an "untrusted" user. That is what the red triangle by your name in your profile and on the forums means. When you become trusted it will change to a blue triangle. This is an FAQ to explain what to expect. Untrusted users are unable to download exclusive torrents (the ones that are highlighted in green) or to organize groupbuys. These are the only differences - regular class promotions remain the same. You do not automatically advance to trusted status when you become a power user. *** People PMing other users to get a vouch, or trying to trade something for a vouch will be automatically disqualified from ever becoming trusted. Q: Why am I untrusted? I donated money! I uploaded files! You can trust me! A: If it wasn't for the current trusted/untrusted user system, the invitation system would not have been open at all. There are people who will mascarade as regular trusted people, leak our exclusives to other trackers and to even sell them for money under their own banner. Since the current system has been implemented, leaks have been significantly reduced. Q: So how can I become trusted? How long does it take? A: There is no set date, no set number of vouches, and no guarantee. When trusted users vouch for you in the thread in the called "Trusted Users Voting Thread II" (General forum), your name will be put into increased consideration. A direct link to that thread is here: http://www.theplace.bz/forums.php?action=viewtopic&topicid=15066 This thread is NOT for complaining about or discussing the policy, or for asking if someone will vouch for you! Only trusted users can post in the vouching thread. Good things to do include making quality posts in the forums or torrent comments, participating in IRC, participating in groupbuys, uploading quality material (!), Scanning and OCRing books, having a good ratio, and generally following the rules. The donation of money is not a criteria used to determine if a user becomes trusted or not, it's merely an option given to users to gain upload credit and to keep the site running. Q: Why was the trusted user system implemented? A: 1) To prevent leaks from our 'friends' 2) Make new users participate in the community and earn the communities trust before they actually get full access to the site and 3) Differentiate old trusted users who have proven they can be trusted from the new ones Q: If I participate in a groupbuy for an exclusive product and I'm untrusted, am I allowed to download it? A: Yes. Since there are a limited number of contributors in each groupbuy it makes it very easy to narrow down who is the cheater, if a torrent were to get leaked. For additional reading on this subject, check out jmz's posts in this thread: http://www.theplace.bz/forums.php?action=viewtopic&topicid=8788&page=1 ------------------------------------------------